Home >
Stories > 2015-16 > June > Eric Larson named District Teacher of the Year
email page print page small type large type

Eric Larson named District Teacher of the Year

Eric Larson,who oversees the award-winning broadcast journalism program at Manchester High School, has been named the district's 2017 teacher of the year.

Larson learned of his selection at a Central Office gathering on Friday (June 3). (You can see a videotape of the announcement here.)

As part of this honor, Mr. Larson will give a speech at the MPS Convocation in late August. In addition, he will go on to represent MPS in the state Teacher of the Year (T.O.Y.) competition.

Each school within district nominated their building’s Teacher of the Year before moving into the district T.O.Y. rigorous process. This process required that each district T.O.Y. candidate submit a resume, provide a number of short essays and answer some thought-provoking questions during a panel interview at Central Office. The panel consisted of all past Teacher of the Year honorees.

Larson succeeds Lisa Griffen as teacher of the year.

Here are teachers of the year selected at other schools for 2017:

  • Karen Taylor- Waddell
  • Claudine Polochanin-Robertson
  • Alan Watson-Illing
  • Alison Eagleson-Martin
  • Patricia Fortin-Bennet
  • Stephanie Borcea-Keeney
  • Heather Garcia-Bowers
  • Kevin Brophy-MRA
  • Kate Kantrow-Washington
  • Nancy Chenette-Highland
  • Eileen Hoffman-Buckley
  • Sonya Smith-Verplanck
  • Deborah Mazzaro-MPC.

A celebratory gathering will take place on Monday, June 13th at 6:30 p.m. prior to the Board of Education meeting at Town of Manchester, Lincoln Center.

Special thanks to our T.O.Y. committee: Seanna Francoeur, Lisa Griffen, Evan Chekas, and Linda Mason.

Manchester Public Schools 45 North School St, Manchester, CT 06042

Non-Discrimination Notice | Safe Schools Policy | Web Accessibility Statement  | Green Cleaning ProductsWork at MPS | 860.647.5041

powered by finalsite